Ramon Echeverria
4 min readMay 22, 2020

So in my internet travels, I came across a site known as Astronaut.io which streams youtube videos. I know, I know … who hasn’t heard of youtube. But here’s the deal, this is a bit different.

Astronaut.io is the brought to you by Andrew Wong and James Thompson. When you visit the site, you are greeted with this message. Which gives you the general idea. Once you hit go, you will be viewing a slideshow of videos from youtube. The twist is these videos are almost anonymous among the almost 5 billion videos that are viewed on Youtube everyday. Characteristics you will find common among these videos are that

  • The videos being viewed will be from last week
  • They have generic file names that may include IMG, MOV or WMV in the title
  • Zero views

Better Yet …. what I didn’t expect

  • Videos in other languages << very cool. I don’t speak that many languages btw.
  • The small glimpses of just daily life.

The plus is also…. by design, there is no buffering between the videos. And if you see something, by clicking on the center button underneath the player you can lock in the video and watch the rest, and clicking again when you want to move onto the next. Such as watching this young lady drinking this soda and possibly sneaking it with no one looking, and maybe finding out what happens.

It really did catch me off guard how much I enjoyed these glimpses of lives outside my own. From random dog videos to birthday parties, to even someone’s first video and a visit to the zoo.

So I did start to wonder about other sites that essentially reuse exiting sites, maybe in a new way, or maybe sites that bring something new that I never thought to look for… so down the rabbit hole I went.

So … what came next…. enter a agoomovietowatch, which surprised me that I never heard of this before, especially in the current age where there are so many streaming services, and it always feels like there is nothing to watch.

What’s really cool is the menu towards the left, which extends and gives you more options than just Netflix.

Actually, unchecking everything I don’t have access to or never going to sign up for, which is kind of nice. Actually, I’ve never heard of some of these.

What I did like was some of the articles which included, “Best Korean Movies on Netflix”, 10 Best Movies on Stars Not on Netflix” or “50 Best Movies on Amazon Prime, You haven’t yet seen”.

Don’t have the time now, but I also don’t have the excuse of that I’m not sure what to I’m looking for as I wander the lists endlessly, not knowing what to watch.

Finally, enter Thistothat.com, which as the motto on the site says “Because people have a need to glue things to other things”.

Now when you are as clumsy as I am, this is something I never I knew I needed. Sometimes you break something that Krazy glue doesn’t seem to solve. But maybe you are just using the wrong glue. Glueing rubber to leather, best to use Barge or 3M 80, I’m not even sure what those are but I know what to look for. It was after looking through all the possible combinations that I noticed the links. This was both unexpected and fun, I mean glue in the news or random glue trivia facts? or on the end… are you French and need a resource on glue? Pleasantly surprised by this one.

So closing this out. Currently I’m learning and cutting my teeth in web development. And, it can sometimes be an area where you wonder what to make or come up with a new or great idea. But, a great idea can also offer a new perspective using a site or app that millions use everyday or something as simple as glueing items. And such ideas an be useful and fun to those just wandering the internet.